Have you ever wondered the comparison on licensed vs certified lash tech in Texas? The concept of beauty will always be subjective, but then one of the features that stand out for most people when they have to decide on whether or not someone is beautiful is the eye and, by extension, the eyelash. A beautiful eyelash can transport a candidate from 0 to 10 in a heartbeat.
The human eyelash protects the eye and keeps dust and harmful particles out of sight. The upper lid has between 90 to 160 lashes, while the lower lid has 75 to 80 lashes. It can grow to about 12 millimeters and has a slight curvature.
For many people, especially ladies, having a full lash gives a certain kind of confidence in your beauty. Sadly, for certain reasons, some people cannot achieve their dream lashes naturally, and this is where the help of lash extensions and beauty technicians comes into bear.
The eye is an essential organ in the body and should be protected by all means necessary; this is why the state of Texas has mandated and provided an avenue for licensing before one can become a certified lash technician in Texas.
Therefore, this article will discuss licensed vs. certified lash tech in Texas: all you need to know before getting your beautiful eyelash extensions.
First, we will address the differences between eyelash licensing and certifications in Texas.
In Texas, before becoming certified by any institution as a lash tech, the law mandates you to first train for about 320 hours and obtain a license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
To be a Licensed lash tech in Texas, the state Board of Cosmetology has defined certain educational requirements that you must comply with to become a licensed technician. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation issues this license. At the end of your training, the TDLR, through its third-party vendor, PSI, grants you access to the exam information you need to schedule and take your exams.
- 10 Best Online Acting Courses With Certificates In Australia 2023
- 10 Free Online Beauty Courses With Certificates to Build Your Career
- 10 Best Animation Scholarships For International Students In 2023
- 10 Best Training and Assessment Courses Online In Australia
How To Become A Licensed Last Tech
To become a licensed lash tech, you are mandated to;
• Be at least 17 years to apply;
• Have a High School diploma or its equivalency;
• must be enrolled in a beauty school licensed in Texas or;
• have completed 320 hours of instruction in an approved eyelash extension training program;
• pass the written and practical licensing exams;
• apply online or by mail for your license to be issued;
• include a non-refundable fee of $50.
Standard topics to be taught include some of the following:
- Infectious and contagious diseases of the eye
- Allergic reactions
- Proper sanitation practices
- Client preparation
- Lash bonding and practical bonding tips
- Occupational health and safety practices
- Eyelash extension application procedures
Eyelash extension isolation and separation procedures
This process ensures that you have the appropriate knowledge to perform different procedures like eyelash extension application safely.
To become licensed, all you need is to comply with the requirements aforementioned by visiting the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) website online and follow the prompts.
In the second part of this article, we will discuss lash tech certifications.
How To Become A Certified Lash Tech
To become a certified eyelash technician in Texas, you need to have obtained your cosmetology and esthetician license.
The next step would be to enroll in a beauty school where you will get the best training possible to become even better in your craft as a lash tech. Before you enroll in any institution or training school, be sure to take out time to take a look at their course schedule and be sure to check if they issue certifications at the end of their programs or not.
You will be trained in even more advanced skills that will help you gain mastery of the art of lashing. Don’t forget to stay up to date with the latest techniques by engaging in online and onsite advanced lash extension education.
In conclusion, you need to have obtained a license before becoming certified as a lash technician in Texas. Don’t forget that other states also have varying eyelash extension certification procedures. Remember that your eyelash extension specialty license is only valid for two years before you renew it.
• Apply for an eyelash extension specialty license – https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/cosmet/individuals/apply-eyelash.htm